2008 Nebula Award Winners

2008 Nebula Award Winners

Presented: April 26, 2008, Austin, TX


  • The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael ChabonWinner: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, Michael Chabon (HarperCollins)
  • The Accidental Time Machine, Joe Haldeman (Ace)
  • The New Moon’s Arms, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner)
  • Odyssey, Jack McDevitt (Ace)
  • Ragamuffin, Tobias S. Buckell (Tor)


  • Winner: “Fountain of Age”, Nancy Kress (Asimov’s Jul 2007)
  • “Awakening”, Judith Berman (Black Gate Spr 2007)
  • “The Helper and His Hero”, Matt Hughes (F&SF Feb,Mar 2007)
  • “Kiosk”, Bruce Sterling (F&SF Jan 2007)
  • “Memorare”, Gene Wolfe (F&SF Apr 2007)
  • “Stars Seen through Stone”, Lucius Shepard (F&SF Jul 2007)


  • Winner: “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate”, Ted Chiang (F&SF Sep 2007)
  • “Child, Maiden, Mother, Crone”, Terry Bramlett (Jim Baen’s Universe Jun 2007)
  • “The Children’s Crusade”, Robin Wayne Bailey (Heroes in Training)
  • The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs Of North Park After the Change”, Kij Johnson (The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales)
  • “The Fiddler of Bayou Teche”, Delia Sherman (The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales)
  • “Pol Pot’s Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)”, Geoff Ryman (F&SF Oct/Nov 2006)
  • “Safeguard”, Nancy Kress (Asimov’s Jan 2007)

Short Story

  • Winner: “Always”, Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov’s Apr/May 2007)
  • “Captive Girl”, Jennifer Pelland (Helix #2 Fall 2006)
  • “Pride”, Mary Turzillo (Fast Forward 1: Future Fiction from the Cutting Edge)
  • “The Story of Love”, Vera Nazarian (Salt of the Air)
  • Titanium Mike Saves the Day”, David D. Levine (F&SF Apr 2007)
  • “Unique Chicken Goes In Reverse”, Andy Duncan (Eclipse One: New Fantasy and Science Fiction)


  • Winner: Pan’s Labyrinth, Guillermo del Toro (Time/Warner)
  • Children of Men, Alfonso Cuaron, Timothy J. Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby (Universal Studios)
  • Doctor Who: “Blink”, Steven Moffat (BBC/The Sci-Fi Channel)
  • The Prestige, Christopher Nolan & Jonathan Nolan (Newmarket Films, Oct06 based on the novel by Christopher Priest)
  • Star Trek: New Voyages: “World Enough and Time”, Marc Scott Zicree & Michael Reaves(www.startreknewvoyages.com)
  • V for Vendetta, Larry Wachowski & Andy Wachowski (Warner Films, based on the graphic novel illustrated by David Lloyd)