2003 Nebula Award Winners

2003 Nebula Award Winners

Presented: April 19, 2003, Philadelphia, PA


  • American Gods by Neil GaimanWinner: American Gods, Neil Gaiman (Morrow)
  • Bones of the Earth, Michael Swanwick (Eos)
  • The Other Wind, Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt)
  • Perdido Street Station, China Miéville (Del Rey)
  • Picoverse, Robert A. Metzger (Ace)
  • Solitaire, Kelley Eskridge (Eos)


  • Winner: “Bronte’s Egg”, Richard Chwedyk (F&SF Aug 2002)
  • “The Chief Designer”, Andy Duncan (Asimov’s Jun 2001)
  • “Magic’s Price”, Bud Sparhawk (Analog Mar 2001)
  • “The Political Officer”, Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF Apr 2002)
  • “Sunday Night Yams at Minnie and Earl’s”, Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Jun 2001)


  • Winner:Hell is the Absence of God”, Ted Chiang (Starlight 3 Patrick Nielsen Hayden, ed., Tor)
  • “The Days Between”, Allen Steele (Asimov’s Mar 2001)
  • “The Ferryman’s Wife”, Richard Bowes (F&SF May 2001)
  • “Lobsters”, Charles Stross (Asimov’s Jun 2001)
  • “Madonna of the Maquiladora”, Gregory Frost (Asimov’s May 2002)
  • “The Pagodas of Ciboure”, M. Shayne Bell (The Green Man: Tales From the Mythic Forest Datlow/Windling, eds; Viking)

Short Story

  • Winner: “Creature”, Carol Emshwiller (F&SF Nov 2001)
  • “Creation”, Jeffrey Ford (F&SF May 2002)
  • “Cut”, Megan Lindholm (Asimov’s May 2001)
  • The Dog Said Bow-Wow”, Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s Nov 2001)
  • “Little Gods”, Tim Pratt (Strange Horizons Feb 2002)
  • “Nothing Ever Happens in Rock City”, Jack McDevitt (Artemis #5 Summer 2001)


  • Winner: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson(New Line Cinema)
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: “Once More With Feeling”, Joss Whedon
  • The Dead Zone: “Unreasonable Doubt”, Michael Taylor (created for TV by Michael Piller and Shawn Piller, based on characters from the Stephen King novel)
  • Shrek, Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio (DreamWorks)