2002 Nebula Award Winners

2002 Nebula Award Winners

Presented: April 27, 2002, Kansas City, MO


  • Possibly the worst cover I've ever seen.Winner: The Quantum Rose, Catherine Asaro (Tor)
  • The Collapsium, Wil McCarthy (Ballantine Del Rey)
  • Declare, Tim Powers (Subterranean Press; William Morrow 2001)
  • Eternity’s End, Jeffrey A. Carver (Tor)
  • Mars Crossing, Geoffrey A. Landis (Tor)
  • Passage, Connie Willis (Bantam)
  • A Storm of Swords, George R. R. Martin (Bantam Spectra)
  • The Tower at Stony Wood, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)


  • Winner: “The Ultimate Earth”, Jack Williamson (Analog Dec 2000)
  • “The Diamond Pit”, Jack Dann (F&SF Jun 2001)
  • “May Be Some Time”, Brenda W. Clough (Analog Apr 2001)
  • “Radiant Green Star”, Lucius Shepard (Asimov’s Aug 2000)
  • “A Roll of the Dice”, Catherine Asaro (Analog Jul/Aug 2000)


  • Winner: “Louise’s Ghost”, Kelly Link (Stranger Things Happen)
  • “Auspicious Eggs”, James Morrow (F&SF Oct/Nov 2000)
  • Dance of the Yellow-Breasted Luddites”, William Shunn (Vanishing Acts)
  • “The Pottawatomie Giant”, Andy Duncan (Sci Fiction 1 Nov 2000)
  • “To Kiss the Star”, Amy Sterling Casil (F&SF Feb 2001)
  • “Undone”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s Jun 2001)

Short Story

  • Winner: “The Cure for Everything”, Severna Park (Sci Fiction 22 Jun 2000)
  • “The Elephants on Neptune”, Mike Resnick (Asimov’s May 2000)
  • “Kaddish for the Last Survivor”, Michael A. Burstein (Analog Nov 2000)
  • “Mom and Dad at the Home Front”, Sherwood Smith (Realms of Fantasy Aug 2000)
  • “Wound the Wind”, George Zebrowski (Analog May 2001)


  • Winner: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, James Schamus, Kuo Jung Tsai & Hui-Ling Wang (Sony Pictures Classics; from the book by Du Lu Wang)
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Body, Joss Whedon (based on the characters created by Joss Whedon)
  • O Brother, Where Art Thou?, Ethan Coen & Joel Coen (Touchstone/Universal; based on the epic poem “The Odyssey” by Homer)
  • X-Men, Tom DeSanto & Bryan Singer, story; David Hayter, screenplay (20th Century Fox; based on the characters created by Stan Lee and Marvel Comics)