1997 Nebula Award Winners

1997 Nebula Award Winners

Presented: April 18-20, 1997, Kansas City, MO


  • Slow River by Nicola GriffithWinner: Slow River, Nicola Griffith (Ballantine Del Rey)
  • The Diamond Age, Neal Stephenson (Bantam Spectra)
  • Expiration Date, Tim Powers (Tor)
  • The Silent Strength of Stones, Nina Kiriki Hoffman (AvoNova)
  • Starplex, Robert J. Sawyer (Analog Jul,Aug,Sep,Oct 1996; Ace)
  • Winter Rose, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)


  • Winner: “Da Vinci Rising”, Jack Dann (Asimov’s May 1995)
  • “Blood of the Dragon”, George R. R. Martin (Asimov’s Jul 1996)
  • “The Cost to Be Wise”, Maureen F. McHugh (Starlight 1)
  • “The Death of Captain Future”, Allen Steele (Asimov’s Oct 1995)
  • “Time Travelers Never Die”, Jack McDevitt (Asimov’s May 1996)
  • “A Woman’s Liberation”, Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov’s Jul 1995)


  • Winner: “Lifeboat on a Burning Sea”, Bruce Holland Rogers (F&SF Oct/Nov 1995)
  • “After a Lean Winter”, Dave Wolverton (F&SF Mar 1996; War of the Worlds: Global Dispatches)
  • “The Chronology Protection Case”, Paul Levinson (Analog Sep 1995)
  • “Erase/Record/Play”, John M. Ford (Starlight 1)
  • “Mirror of Lop Nor”, George Guthridge (Peter S. Beagle’s Immortal Unicorn)
  • “Must and Shall”, Harry Turtledove (Asimov’s Nov 1995)
  • “The Perseids”, Robert Charles Wilson (Realms of Fantasy Dec 1995)

Short Story

  • Winner: “A Birthday”, Esther M. Friesner (F&SF Aug 1995)
  • “Five Fucks”, Jonathan Lethem (The Wall of the Sky, The Wall of the Eye)
  • “In the Pound, Near Breaktime”, Kent Brewster (Tomorrow Speculative Fiction Oct 1995)
  • “In the Shade of the Slowboat Man”, Dean Wesley Smith (F&SF Jan 1996)
  • “The String”, Kathleen Ann Goonan (F&SF Jun 1995)
  • “These Shoes Strangers Have Died Of”, Bruce Holland Rogers (Enchanted Forests)