Revelation Space Universe

Revelation Space Universe Chronology

After years of putting it off I’ve finally decided to delve in to Alastair Reynolds’ Revelation Space future histories. I don’t partake on these extended literary journeys lightly. I first read Revelation Space when it came out in 2000. When I concluded the final chapter it was glaringly obvious that it was the first part of a trilogy or series. I liked the work quite a bit and deemed that this was a universe I wanted to delve in to more so I put it back on my overloaded shelves . . . and waited. Why? Because I find it hard to immerse myself in settings/stories that get stretched over multiple decades in the telling. I’d rather have all works complete and accessible before diving in.   See: The Wheel of Time series which took 23 years to complete, and sits on my shelf, now, at long last, ready to be read.

It’s just an odd idiosyncrasy I have.

Thirteen years later it looks like it’s safe to delve back in to this future history as Reynolds has moved on to his Blue Remembered Earth setting and appears to be done (for now) with his Revelation Space writing. The next question is: In what order do I read these works? I decided to tackle the 5 short stories, 8 novellas, and 6 novels in chronological order, as opposed to published order.  With a little research I was able to map out the Revelation Space chronology.  Some of the years may not be exact, but I believe the order is correct.

The Revelation Space Books:

Aurora Rising (formerly The Prefect) by Alastair Reynolds    Elysium Fire by Alastair Reynolds
The Prefect Dreyfus Series

Chasm City by Alastair Reynolds    Diamond Dogs, Turquoise Days by Alastair Reynolds    Galactic North by Alastair Reynolds
Standalone novels/novellas/short stories

Revelation Space by Alastair Reynolds    Redemption Ark     Absolution Gap by Alastair Reynolds
The Inhibitor Trilogy (aka Revelation Space Trilogy)


The Revelation Space Map:

Revelation Space Map


The Revelation Space Chronology:

Red – denotes full length standalone novel.
Blue – denotes Revelation Space Trilogy novel (a.k.a. The Inhibitor Trilogy).
Green – denotes novella.
Black – denotes short story.
* – denotes recommended (but not required) pre-reading for Revelation Space Trilogy.
** – denotes recommended (but not required) reading after Absolution Gap.
*** – A Prefect Dreyfus Emergency novel/story.

Click through on the story titles for full reviews.

Great Wall of Mars *2205Galactic North4 out of 5 stars
Glacial *2217Galactic North3.5 out of 5 stars
A Spy in Europa2330-40Galactic North2 out of 5 stars
Weather2358Galactic North45stars
Aurora Rising ***2427Aurora Rising4 out of 5 stars
Open and Shut ***2427Gollanz websiteTBD
Elysium Fire ***2429Elysium Fire4 out of 5 stars
Diamond Dogs2500-50Diamond Dogs, Turquoise Days45stars
Monkey Suit2511Deep Navigation3.5 out of 5 stars
Dilation Sleep2513-40Galactic North2 out of 5 stars
Chasm City *2517-24Chasm City4 out of 5 stars
Grafenwalder’s Bestiary2540Galactic North4 out of 5 stars
Turquoise Days2541Diamond Dogs, Turquoise Days3.5 out of 5 stars
Revelation Space2524-67Revelation Space4 out of 5 stars
The Last Log of the Lachrimosac. 2500sSubterranean Press3 out of 5 stars
Nightingale2600Galactic North4 out of 5 stars
Redemption Ark2605-51Redemption Ark4 out of 5 stars
Absolution Gap2675-3000Absolution Gap4 out of 5 stars
Galactic North **2303-40000Galactic North3 out of 5 stars


Here’s a timeline infographic I ran across on Facebook.  I don’t know the origin as it was uploaded and not linked.  Regardless, it’s a good graphical representation of the timeline.  Note that it’s missing The Last Log of the Lachrimosa, and the short stories from Galactic North are not laid out where they should be on the timeline.

Revelation Space Chronology


Words © 2013-2021, Neal Ulen. All rights reserved.
Images/videos cited © to their respective owner(s).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To the top